[Yawn] Wake me up when the TT Zero is over. Scrooge’s take

Yeah I know, there I go again with my typically agitating and short sited titles. And it’s not like I have been prolific this last few months or anything.

Look, after I started the season in review series (no, I never did a review of the 2011 TTXGP and FIM series as promised) I got my first hard look at the TT Zero.  What was it last year, 9 bikes qual’d/showed and 5 raced/finished?  For the supposed biggest race in the world it is a pretty sad showing.  That many bikes were at the last-minute-scheduled NA final at Miller last year.  And yet we hear again, oh no this year will be the biggest yet, really.  Well the Bournemouth Kawasaki Racing Zytec bike has been pulled, due to not being ready.  Here we go again.  Honestly, I think seeing the MotoCzysz bike at Miller spoiled me.  I got to see it in person, and I have since realized that it is highly unlikely I will ever see it in person again if all they do is run the TT and Laguna.  It seems like the amount of money and effort that goes into going to the TT would be equal-ish to running the TTXGP NA series, and then I could see it run more often, against bikes I want to see run against, and more people would have the chance as well.  But, in all fairness they have their reasons, and if you’re kicking everyone’s ass, you keep doing it.  Then there is the Mugen.  Everyone thinks its a Honda.  While don’t doubt it has some serious Honda DNA, I still can’t help but think that they are underestimating Mugen.  Personally I’d rather root for Mugen than Honda any day.  And Lightning is still planning on being there as far as I know.  So 2 MotoCzysz bikes, Mugen, Lightning, and Kingston.  I am sure we will see another bike or two.  But will we see even 10 bikes this year?

How important is the TT Zero to the elmoto racing world?  It is a really good test of how they stack up to the ICE bikes, and its long been Honda’s proving ground, and the publicity is really good.  So, If you are trying to take the ICE bikes and companies on, then it’s great.  But TT Zero practice and qualifying are not even on the TT’s schedule.  So how much attention is it really getting?  Also notice that the 2 major elmoto manufacturers Zero and Brammo are not there, but both are now have bikes in the TTXGP?  And MotoCzysz has been teasing the new bikes a bit (great blog post here).  But at this point I’m of the feeling that there is no use in getting excited and worked up about the race or bikes.  It usually accompanied by a bunch of let downs.  I will probably go on with my life, forget about it, and then in a week or twos time read all about it on the internet.  Because I’ll be damned if we’ll ever see race coverage here in the States.

On that subject, and thanks to MotoCzysz, we do know when practice and qualifying are:

Live audio streaming of Team Segway Racing MotoCzysz during 2012 IOM TT Zero

2012-05-27

Catch all the action when Team Segway Racing MotoCzysz returns to the Isle of Man not only to defend the #1 plate, but to be the first electric team to break the 100mph lap average. Manx Radio will be airing live audio coverage of all the events at this year’s IOM TT including the SES TT Zero Challenge.  Be sure to visit http://www.manxradiott365.com/ to listen or download the iPhone/Android apps and listen on your mobile phone and follow the MotoCzysz Team.

Find live timing, speed trap numbers and follow us by clicking this link to the official 2012 IOM TT website at https://www.iomtt.com/TTLive/SignUp.aspx.

  • PRACTICE – Sunday, June 2nd at 5:45-6:30pm IOM (9:45-10:30am Pacific Standard Time USA)
  • QUALIFYING – Monday, June 4th at 4:00-4:30pm IOM (8:00-8:30am PST USA)
  • SES TT ZERO CHALLENGE RACE – Wednesday, June 6th at 10:45am IOM (2:45 am PST USA)

But what about the 100 mph barrier, you might ask.  Well what about it?  Is there any doubt it will be broken this year?  Everyone has been saying not if, but how many by how much?  Not that exciting really.  Here’s one, who will brake 105 this year?

Here are my story lines for the TT:

How ugly will the MotoCzysz bikes be due to aero packaging?

How competitive will the Mugen actually be?  They have the fastest TT rider, carbon fiber everywhere, an apparently    very well put together bike, but only 4 months of project time.

Will Lighting have their stuff together this year?

Will Kingston not get smoked this year?

Will there be at least 10 bikes racing?

Will this be the year that kills off the last shred of my interest in the TT?

Pretty negative, I know, but honest.  Who knows, maybe something exciting will happen in a few days time.

4 thoughts on “[Yawn] Wake me up when the TT Zero is over. Scrooge’s take

    1. Ahh, OK. How brave of you leave a comment like this on a hobbiest’s blog (note the complete lack of advertizing or money making abilities on the site) using John Doe as your name and e-mail address. Considering the post was more about the TT Zero than any particular bike, and my disenfranchising with it, maybe your comment would have carried more weight if you recommended I start my own race series? Keep laughing if you want. I’m a fan with opinions, spare time and an internet connection. I know what I am doing, and I can assure you that the time you took to set up your John Doe account and write your comment shows that you take me WAY more seriously than I do. And way more than anyone else should too. I assure you that the time you, and “we”, spend reading my blog to then turn around and laugh at my feeble and misguided blog posts would be better spent actually making your bike (if you have one) faster or prettier, or both. Better yet, you should work on those issues of insecurity that you clearly suffer from.

  1. How ugly will the MotoCzysz bikes be due to aero packaging?

    104 mph ugly.

    How competitive will the Mugen actually be? They have the fastest TT rider, carbon fiber everywhere, an apparently very well put together bike, but only 4 months of project time.

    Very competitive for a first time attempt. I’m actually surprised MotoCzysz was able to maintain a lead.

    Honda, I mean Mugen, has two options:
    1. Declare “Mission Accomplished”, hang up their 100 mph trophy and call it a day.
    2. Learn from the race this year and MotoCzysz’s win, and come back with a more fully developed aero-optimized bike for next year.

    I’m hoping for #2.

    Will Lighting have their stuff together this year?

    No. Unfortunately.

    Will Kingston not get smoked this year?

    Nope : /

    Will there be at least 10 bikes racing?

    Nope. I’m really disappointed at the level of preparation by most of the electric race outfits.. but it’s waayyy easier to say that from the sidelines.

    Will this be the year that kills off the last shred of my interest in the TT?

    It’s one of the two premiere electric race venues in the world .. arguably the other being the NA TTXGP / FIM e-Power combined race at Laguna Seca. A 4+ mph gain, though arguably mostly from aero improvements, is nothing to turn noses up at. What will next year hold? Hopefully a more fully developed field .. and perhaps more OEM entrants?

Leave a Reply

