New Italian elmoto. Spec bike for indoor series?

Simone Mancini of  motoelettriche.wordpress.com was kind enough to send me a translation of one of his recent posts about Team Aecivitas.  Here’s the scoop on their bike:

“Team Aecivitas.

– The team aecivitas bike was exhibited on the FIM’s stand at the EICMA.

– The team consists of about 15 persone with industry experts and partnership University of Florence.

– Massimo Tucci (ex Betti Moto team) is the electronic responsible and boss of the company Hydra.s.r.l .

– This is the technical data of concept  e-xxx: http://www.aecivitas.com/news/111108-eicma/Eicma_Presentazione_02.pdf

– The most interesting feature of this new bike is its small longitudinal engine with bevel gears transmission.

– The official presentation of the team with more information will be made in early 2012.”

I also thought I had read in a translation that this bike is a prototype spec racer for an indoor Italian series.  I have not been able to confirm this at all, so we’ll just have to wait and see.

6 thoughts on “New Italian elmoto. Spec bike for indoor series?

  1. Stunning! I love how the only real giveaway that this is not a ICE machine is the lack of an exhaust. I wish more e-bikes looked so purposeful and elegant at the same time.

    Really curious to see how the folks involved with this will pull off an indoor racing series. Heck, I’d be fine just seeing this on any outdoor track.

  2. I don’t know, I think the E1PC is gorgeous, the Brammo Empulse is cool, the RR is way cool, and the new Zero S is a nice looking bike, IMHO. Also, retro guys really seemed to like the Moto Electra.

    We’ll see if this there is any truth to this in door race thing. It’s a cool concept, that’s for sure.

  3. As a MotoCzysz fan, I absolutely agree with you about the E1pc (all MotoCzysz machines are gorgeous IMHO). And the other bikes you mention are cool too, don’t get me wrong. It’s just that this Aecivitas bike, at least at a glance, looks little different than the Honda RS250 that it’s chassis and bodywork are based on. To me, Honda’s recent production GP machines are beautiful, again purposeful and elegant, lean and mean, in the way a thorough-bred race bike should be. This Italian racer appears exactly that.

    I imagine an indoor facility would have to be pretty huge to accomodate motorcycle roadracing, and the track layout very tight.

  4. I thought I saw it in a translation of a news blurb, but I haven’t searched for that translation, not that I really trust them. That’s why I had asked you. I thought you might know.

Leave a Reply

